Skip to Content

Country Racing SA Induct Three Life Members

Three life memberships were awarded last Friday at the Country Racing SA Annual General Meeting. Wayne Henson, John Glatz and Reg Nolan were awarded life memberships to Country Racing South Australia. All three were awarded these life memberships in recognition of their contributions to racing in country South Australia.

Country Racing SA Chair Jeff Tansell presented Wayne and John with their Life Memberships whilst John Leahy, Murray Bridge Racing Club Chairperson, accepted on Reg Nolan’s behalf as Reg sadly passed away earlier in the year. John said that he had told Reg about his nomination for life membership prior to his passing.

Joh Glatz served for 36 years on the Oakbank Racing Club committee, 20 of them as Chair, before stepping down in 2022. John Glatz said “[I am] quite surprised” with the life membership but was honoured to be recognised. John continued saying “I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in racing.”

Wayne Henson is the former Country Racing South Australian Chairman and provided many years of service to the Balaklava Racing Club.

Country Racing SA Chair, Jeff Tansell, said “He’s given a lot to Country Racing South Australia over the years and is a very worth recipient of the life membership”.

On accepting the honour Wayne said, “I feel humbled, I hope we achieved something during my time at Country Racing SA”.

Reg Nolan was at the helm of Murray Bridge Racing Club as Chairman for 18 years before stepping down after the successful move to Gifford Hill in 2020.

Reg joined the Country Racing SA board in 2005 and was known for his robust discussions during board meetings and his passion for all things racing. Wayne Henson spoke with fondness, “going to country races around the state with Reg was always a highlight.”

Congratulations to Wayne, Reg and John.

Post categories

CRSA Country Racing SA